Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Here's a statement of the obvious: The opinions expressed here are those of the participants, not those of the Mutual Fund Observer. We cannot vouch for the accuracy or appropriateness of any of it, though we do encourage civility and good humor.

Support MFO

• Donate through PayPal

Jonathan Clement's By The Numbers: Social Security Statement

FYI: ( I earned all of my social security credits through part-time jobs. For most of my career I was a school teacher and did not pay into the fund.)

AROUND THE TIME of my birthday each year, I request a copy of my Social Security Statement. This year, as l reviewed my report, I realized many life stories lie behind the numbers that appear in my earnings record.
Regards,
Ted
http://www.humbledollar.com/2018/07/by-the-numbers/

Comments

• beebee
    edited July 2018
    Many are surprised that teachers salaries are often not part of Social Security system. Though Ted's part time jobs most definitely had deductions for SS & Medicare (teachers do contribute to Medicare), it's doubtful his SS pension is anywhere close to a SS full benefit.

I have accumulated 30 of my required 40 credits by also holding a host of part-time jobs as well. I will continue this until age 70, but my prospects are not good for collecting any Social security on that record. I mainly do these PT jobs for other reasons (added income, retirement contributions, self employment deductions, etc.)

Teachers who have accumulated at least 40 credits with SS face two SS provisions that eliminate or severely reduce a workers SS benefit,

The WEP (Windfall Elimination Provision) and GPO (Government Pension Offset)...explained here:
    massretirees.com/wepgpo-explained

Often the teacher pension (a state obligation) wipes out any SS benefit that teachers have earned by holding a series of part time job or having a second career.