Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Here's a statement of the obvious: The opinions expressed here are those of the participants, not those of the Mutual Fund Observer. We cannot vouch for the accuracy or appropriateness of any of it, though we do encourage civility and good humor.

Support MFO

• Donate through PayPal

‘Patriotic’ Portfolio: How To Invest In Companies That Hire Veterans: (HONR)

FYI: Our nation's veterans bring dedication and value to our workforce, and now investors can show their support by investing in a “patriotic” ETF.
Regards,
Ted
http://www.cetusnews.com/business/‘Patriotic’-portfolio--How-to-invest-in-companies-that-hire-veterans.S1bCqBQI1Q.html

M* Snapshot HONR:
http://www.morningstar.com/etfs/arcx/honr/quote.html

Comments

• Will these gimmicks never end. Being a veteran myself I'm all for assisting them but do it directly. Investing in companies will do them no more good than anyone else who gets hired but the companies might make out like bandits. However you also must be careful when supporting vets directly (e.g. Wounded Warrior Project until they got smacked around like they richly deserved).

As for these investment themes take a look at how MAGA has fared against SPY when it was hailed as the next greatest thing once the new administration was put into power.
  • Why post this bogus Fox crap? Oh, right, patriotism.

Unworthy of this weekend.

Like the militarization of the opening of sports events. Come on.

No company would not love to hire more vets when they can do the work, or close enough.

This equation of military display (not only at sporting events) w/ patriotism is such pernicious, divisive, destructive crap.

Coach Kerr has got it:
    https://www.facebook.com/NowThisSports/videos/831418063695194/

Btw, if you do not know, this is a guy whose famous academic father was murdered by terrorists in Beirut.