Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Here's a statement of the obvious: The opinions expressed here are those of the participants, not those of the Mutual Fund Observer. We cannot vouch for the accuracy or appropriateness of any of it, though we do encourage civility and good humor.

Support MFO

• Donate through PayPal

Core Bond Funds

2»

Comments

• edited May 2018
    I'm not a chart expert but the Lord Abbett fund looks good in that chart, based on what I see. I've looked at the Loomis Sayles funds extensively, and I always come to the same conclusion: Excellent long-term results as long as you can withstand the rollercoaster ride.
  • @ catch22:

Hmm... We were not able to load the data for this chart. Please reload this page. If this error persists please contact customer support and let them know what happened.
    Derf
  • The user and all related content has been deleted.
  • edited May 2018
    Hi @catch 22,

Just for the heck of it ...

Why was AGG not included in the charting? In this way one could see how bonds represented by AGG and stocks represented by SPY performed against one another and also the referenced income funds. In addition, it would nice to see what the total distributions were for each security through the charting period. The chart follows valuation not total retrun.

I'm in belief that this chart exercise does not reflect the complete story as distributions are not reflected.
  • edited May 2018
    Hi @Old_Skeet
    Per stockcharts info; all distributions in whatever form are included in their chart indicating a "total return" for a period used (unless the time frame is too short to have a distribution included during the period).

Stockcharts total return calculation methods

You may right click on the "2615 days" block and select several default time periods.
    I've added AGG to the original chart.
    @Derf