Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Here's a statement of the obvious: The opinions expressed here are those of the participants, not those of the Mutual Fund Observer. We cannot vouch for the accuracy or appropriateness of any of it, though we do encourage civility and good humor.

Support MFO

• Donate through PayPal

Reminiscences of Marty Zweig: What I Learned From a Market Great: Liz Ann Sonders

FYI: On February 18, while on vacation, I received a shocking phone call. My first mentor and boss, Wall Street icon Marty Zweig, had passed away. I've been extremely blessed throughout my 27-year career to work with some of the most transformative and legendary folks in the business. Marty was one.

I worked for him (and his partner at Avatar Associates, Ned Babbitt) for 13 years, starting in 1986 after I graduated from college. Another would be Louis Rukeyser, with whom Marty and I shared the "stage" on Wall Street Week for many years as regular panelists. And of course, I've had the great thrill of working for Chuck Schwab since 2000. It doesn't get any better than learning from these legends over the past 27 years.
Regards,
Ted
http://www.schwab.com/public/schwab/nn/articles/Reminiscences-of-Marty-Zweig-What-I-Learned-From-a-Market-Great

Comments

• Thanks for the link to a grand piece. It also had a link to the Wall Street Week show just before the 1987 crash, which I enjoyed now more than then. Marty was really expecting a bad day ...
  • MJG
    edited May 2015
    Hi Guys,

Thank you Ted for this walk down memory lane. It is a worthwhile trip.

For a long time I believed that Marty Zweig and Jason Zweig were related. I was wrong.