Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Here's a statement of the obvious: The opinions expressed here are those of the participants, not those of the Mutual Fund Observer. We cannot vouch for the accuracy or appropriateness of any of it, though we do encourage civility and good humor.

Support MFO

• Donate through PayPal

A Positive Market Outlook

MJG
edited May 2014 in Fund Discussions
Hi Guys,

“Bull markets are born of pessimism, grow on skepticism, mature on optimism, and die on euphoria.” Sir John Templeton assembled these wise words to crystallize market cycles.

I’ve just invested the last 4 days attending the 2014 edition of the Las Vegas MoneyShow. I have been doing this annual event now for over 15 years. It never disappoints. The consensus expert opinion from the 2014 event is that the Bull market is presently in the optimistic phase of Templeton’s model. It has a way to go.

Here’s my field report.

The MoneyShow features one-half to one hour presentations delivered at 10 simultaneous lectures starting at 7:30 each morning and ending after 7 each evening. It’s a well organized, full schedule with attendance numbers approaching 10 thousand millionaires.

Yes, I said millionaires. According to economist Mark Skousen, each attendee is a guaranteed millionaire, especially if the unit of measure is the Mexican Peso. Lesson One: Measurement units must be specified.

The overarching theme of this year’s conference was the stability and continuity of the current Bull market; especially, what are the prospects for the remainder of the year?

In one form or another, all the speakers have skin in the game so some skepticism is a cautionary watchword. One pertinent story tells of a man meeting with the Devil and with God in his last days on Earth. The man has the option to choose, so he asks both about the afterlife.