Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Here's a statement of the obvious: The opinions expressed here are those of the participants, not those of the Mutual Fund Observer. We cannot vouch for the accuracy or appropriateness of any of it, though we do encourage civility and good humor.

Support MFO

• Donate through PayPal

John Hussman: Market Valuations Are 'Obscene'

2»

Comments

• edited October 2013
    I have owned HSGFX for many years, and have suffered like the other holders (about 5% of my portfolio). Based on John Hussman's education, he is very smart - you don't get into Stanford grad school without extremely high scores. This most likely translates into a high IQ >135. I have a degree in chemical engineering and an MBA (finance), and I read (and understand) his weekly newsletter. I think it's well written and very insightful. I think he is absolutely correct in his analysis of the markets. However, like others I think his investment model is flawed and overly complicated. My investment model enables me to participate in the upside gains and I maintain a trailing "stop limit" buy order on ETF SPXU (3x S&P negative) as insurance against the market tanking. The general investing public is buying and selling without any regard for value. Eventually there has to be a day of reckoning, but why not take the ride up. His biggest mistake was not getting into the market after the big 2008 crash. I know about his stress testing... That proved to me his business instincts are not great - if common sense disagrees with your financial model, please go with the common sense. Please realize that all of these models have ton of assumptions...

Buffet:
    "Success in investing doesn't correlate with I.Q. once you're above the level of 25. Once you have ordinary intelligence, what you need is the temperament to control the urges that get other people into trouble in investing."