Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Here's a statement of the obvious: The opinions expressed here are those of the participants, not those of the Mutual Fund Observer. We cannot vouch for the accuracy or appropriateness of any of it, though we do encourage civility and good humor.

Support MFO

• Donate through PayPal

Municipal Bond Outlook

2»

Comments

• I am relatively new to investing in Municipal bonds, but thanks to MFO have a powerful tool for researching funds. Fidelity has a search tool that allows you to search individual Muni bonds by state and category (Education, Revenue, etc). I retired in Colorado and invested in the only Colorado Muni fund that I have run across, WTCOX, for diversity. @Baseball_Fan pointed out the benefits of investing in infrastructure (schools, sewers, hospitals), and I did have a good feeling about investing in my new home state.

"Environmental, social, and governance (ESG)" investing is a good concept, in my opinion, but the controversy comes in how to measure it in order to allocate to specific funds. It is not a subject that I have followed closely. My former employer spent a lot of money on ESG practices, and part of my job included reclamation, environmental protection, and preparing for climate change, among others. Some companies are more ESG conscious than others.

@msf points out that not all Muni bonds invest in projects that will stand the test of time such as dams and infrastructure doesn't imply ESG. I recently read an article that some organization (Army Corp of Engineers?) is tearing down hundreds (thousands?) of dams and returning the streams to the original conditions. Sure, Muni bonds have invested in projects that used lead pipes for water or asbestos for insulation. Overall Muni bonds have been instrumental in helping with growth. We learn over time.