Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Here's a statement of the obvious: The opinions expressed here are those of the participants, not those of the Mutual Fund Observer. We cannot vouch for the accuracy or appropriateness of any of it, though we do encourage civility and good humor.

Support MFO

• Donate through PayPal

PAUDX

edited June 2012 in Fund Discussions
Hi-

Long time lurker at this site and its predecessor. I have been investing in the markets since 1986. I have to say that the last five years have been both the most fascinating and frustrating I have ever experienced. this is my first post.

In my Core account I hold FPACX, FESGX, IVWCX , ICMAX and ABRCX. I am contemplating the addition of PAUDX. I like the low volatility and equity like returns. I've read the commentary here and most seem to agree with its use as a Core type holding and with its performance and risk characteristics. Before I pull the trigger, any other thoughts that people want to share?

MarkM

Comments

• Speaking of Arnott and your consideration of his Asset Allocation fund - check out his article from last year in Oct 2011 - a good read on his views.

Arnott: The Long View-Building The 3-D Shelter
    By Rob Arnott | October 26, 2011

http://www.indexuniverse.com/sections/features/10121-arnott-the-long-view-building-the-3-d-shelter.html

Excerpt:
    =====

"For an asset allocator, the sweet spot is a combination of cheap assets and an improving economic backdrop. Today, we have cheaper assets and a deteriorating macro picture. Thus, the prudent course is to add incrementally to these exposures.

If you are buying some assets, you have to be selling others. The obvious sell candidate in a long-term inflationary environment would be developed world sovereign debt.

{...}