Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Here's a statement of the obvious: The opinions expressed here are those of the participants, not those of the Mutual Fund Observer. We cannot vouch for the accuracy or appropriateness of any of it, though we do encourage civility and good humor.

Support MFO

• Donate through PayPal

What are your 5 or 6 largest holdings? *Or where are the bulk of your holdings?*

2»

Comments

• @Baseball_Fan,
    I'm a trader. I don't care what happened in the past but what can make me money now. I do care about volatility/risk when I select funds.
    When a black swan shows up is when ugly things happen and you must avoid risky funds.
    What many forget already is that higher-rated bond were down too and only after the Fed intervention stock + bond funds started doing better.

Examples: LQD=Investment grade (not junk) corp. A respectable index was down peak to trough over 18%.
  • I'm a young whippersnapper compared to most people on this board (38) so I'm willing to take on more risk than most others here. My largest holdings are:

AAPL
    PRGTX
    PRMTX
    MSFT
    WAMCX

I'd like to include AMZN as a holding but it's well represented in PRMTX and PRGTX. Concern about government interference in AMZN from both sides of the aisle have kept me from owning it outright. I also have a toehold in AKREX.

My family now includes 3 wonderful kids who drive my wife and I bat shit crazy but we love them nonetheless:)
  • edited September 2020
    Derf said:

Good morning @hank : "One thing I like at Max Funds is the maximum 1-year loss they envision. Worst case scenario for sure. Where it’s helpful to me is in looking for / comparing relatively ”safe” funds to meet a certain portfolio need. "
    Is there facts as to how close they come to ringing that bell, so to speak ? Is there a look back section ?
    Stay Safe, Derf