Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Here's a statement of the obvious: The opinions expressed here are those of the participants, not those of the Mutual Fund Observer. We cannot vouch for the accuracy or appropriateness of any of it, though we do encourage civility and good humor.

Support MFO

• Donate through PayPal

Favorite buy and hold fund?

edited July 2012 in Fund Discussions
Understanding that I'm not very good with knowing when to get in or out of the market, I've evolved to a portfolio that basically has funds that either are well diversified or have proven managers that weight the equity holdings in their funds based on their economic view. I was wondering if others are taking the same approach to portfolio building - using funds you are comfortable with as buy and hold.

Here is a list of the funds I've come to trust as long term funds, core funds if that word makes sense here. With these funds, I believe management has capital preservation first and foremost as their investing theme or the fund is well diversified in it's approach.

Equity funds:
YAFFX
ARIVX
UMBWX
ODVIX (new to my group thanks to BobC. one of the least volatile EM funds I've found.)

Allocation or Balanced type funds:
FPACX
PRPFX
PGDPX
MACSX
I also own FAAFX in this space but conservative it is not.

And the Bond side:
MWTRX
RPSIX
LSBRX
FGBRX

These funds are the bulk of my 401k and the ones I have become comfortable with. What funds do others have a high comfort level with through thick and thin?

Comments