Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Here's a statement of the obvious: The opinions expressed here are those of the participants, not those of the Mutual Fund Observer. We cannot vouch for the accuracy or appropriateness of any of it, though we do encourage civility and good humor.

Support MFO

• Donate through PayPal

Could You Win With A Portfolio Of Sin?

FYI: Vincent was different. By profession, he was a barber. But the guy was always scheming. One day, he was snipping away at my bangs (back when I had hair). That’s when he offered me a “business proposal.” He wanted to open a brothel in a northern Canadian mining town. “You have such an innocent face,” he said, “You would be the perfect guy to run it.”

I didn’t bolt from his shop. This was entertaining stuff for my 20 year-old ears. But I never went back to Vincent. Morally, he didn’t care where he put his money. He just wanted to make a profit, no matter what the cost
Regards,
Ted
https://assetbuilder.com/knowledge-center/articles/could-you-win-with-a-portfolio-of-sin

Comments

• edited October 2016
    The article seems to confuse “sins” with “vices”. There is a difference between “sin” and a vice. The colloquial use of the term “sin” implies engaging in an act contrary to the will of god or gods – of course “which” god or gods..? OTOH a “vice” is an action which has some degree of social opprobrium, but these are not generally sins. And social morays evolve over time, don't they...

The article opens with prostitution – but that is not generally a sin according to the Old Testament (an exception would have been having sex with a temple prostitute of a competing religion), and might not even have been deemed a vice.