Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Here's a statement of the obvious: The opinions expressed here are those of the participants, not those of the Mutual Fund Observer. We cannot vouch for the accuracy or appropriateness of any of it, though we do encourage civility and good humor.

Support MFO

• Donate through PayPal

Looking ahead to Tax Year 2023

With the increase in Social Security benefits, the dramatic increase in yields on all types of non IRA investments not to mention a second RMD in our house I started playing around with the numbers on TAXCASTER. Not a pretty picture. Something to think about.

Comments

• taxcaster. ok.
  • edited October 2022
    “Taxation is the price we pay for civilization.” Oliver Wendell Holmes. According to fellow Supreme Court Justice Felix Frankfurter: “[Holmes] did not have a curmudgeon’s feelings about his own taxes. A secretary who exclaimed ‘Don’t you hate to pay taxes!’ was rebuked with the hot response, ‘No, young feller. I like to pay taxes. With them I buy civilization.” The good news is America provides plenty of legal ways for people to avoid paying taxes, and the wealthier investors are, the more ways there are. The most obvious one is muni bonds, which are becoming interesting again.
  • edited October 2022
    Unfortunately with the market retracement (dismal returns) this yr, our household and mama are likely to pay less than 2021 or 2020

https://www.nerdwallet.com/article/taxes/federal-income-tax-brackets#:~:text=There are seven federal tax,taxes due in April 2023.
  • msf
    edited October 2022