Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Here's a statement of the obvious: The opinions expressed here are those of the participants, not those of the Mutual Fund Observer. We cannot vouch for the accuracy or appropriateness of any of it, though we do encourage civility and good humor.

Support MFO

• Donate through PayPal

Musk trashes cash / defends bitcoin purchase. “I’m not an investor, I am an engineer.”

edited February 2021 in Other Investing
"To be clear, I am not an investor, I am an engineer. I don't own any publicly-traded stock besides Tesla ... However, when fiat [regular] currency has negative real interest, only a fool wouldn't look elsewhere. Bitcoin is almost as BS as fiat money. The key word is 'almost'." Newsweek

Related - Earlier Story from USA Today Tesla buys $1.5 billion in bitcoin

Also related ... Another bump up for the 10 year treasury yield today. 1.34% at last glance. Seem low? Consider around 0.60% less than a year ago.

Question What rate on short term debt or cash would entice you to unload some of your equity holdings (if any) ?

Comments

• Oh, dear. Good question. SHORT-term debt? Nope. Just, no. I'd rather buy a 10-year "zero" and hold it. Last one I had, I redeemed in 2013, almost doubled my original investment. Can a 5-plus percent rate be found anywhere on a 10-year "zero" today?
  • edited February 2021